Kupiškis District Tourism and Business Information Center, VšĮ

Pedestrian route "Jewish roads in Kupiškis"

Download GPX
Briefly about the route
3 km
7 h.
Route surface
100% Asphalt

There are no exact data on when Jews settled in Kupiški, but it is believed that around the 17th century. the middle The Jewish plots were located around the current Gediminas street and the square. A large number of Jewish residents were also located in Synagoga street. in 1897 2,661 Jews lived in Kupiškis, or 71 percent of the total (3,742) inhabitants of the town. Jewish shops were located on Gediminas Street. They occupied one room of the house. A variety of goods were displayed on the shelves behind the counter. In the summer, the owners themselves would stand at the entrance and invite customers to come in. The town had a Jewish school, a people's bank, small industrial enterprises, many stores and taverns, a hospital and a cemetery, and a Jewish bathhouse. Nochem Šmidts, the richest resident of Kupiškis, owned a mill where the mill was turned by an internal combustion engine. There were three synagogues in Kupiškis, which formed a semi-enclosed courtyard. Two synagogues, the Great and Hasidic synagogues, have survived to this day. The local Jewish artisans had a great influence in the life of Kupiškis, who elected the leadership of the department at the general meeting in 1938. at the beginning Between the wars until 1939 At the end of the year, intensive construction took place in the city, two- to three-story brick houses appeared, and a number of wooden huts in poor condition were demolished.



Smartphone app / Audio guide

It is an interactive, innovative, modern technology-based learning and cultural awareness tool for Lithuanian and foreign visitors to get to know important and unique cultural heritage objects and famous people in our country